Back Office BeatSubscribe

Published by J9 Systems. What's new in business tech, and what it means for yours.

From the brief of Monday, October 19, 2026 · No. 8

From the daily brief · Software

Procore retires Prequalification March 31, 2027; COMPASS waives fees to 2028

General contractors who vet subs in Procore Prequalification have to move by spring, and signing with COMPASS by Dec. 31 avoids fees until 2028.

By Carter Josephson · · 2 min read

What happened

On Oct. 15, 2026, Procore named COMPASS by Bespoke Metrics its preferred subcontractor prequalification solution and launched "Prequal for All," which makes COMPASS available to every general contractor and subcontractor on Procore and shows each sub's Q Score and prequalification outcome inside Procore workflows. Procore will stop enhancing its own Procore Prequalification tool and will shut it down on March 31, 2027, and COMPASS will waive fees until 2028 for customers who sign up by Dec. 31, 2026.

What it means for a 10-to-50-person business

If you use Procore Prequalification today, you have to change tools before spring bidding. Take a 28-person commercial GC that vets about 60 subs a year in Procore Prequalification. It has two dates to work to. Sign with COMPASS by Dec. 31 and it pays no COMPASS fees through 2027. Miss that date and it still has to move by March 31, presumably at whatever COMPASS charges, which Procore's post does not state. The move itself is mostly admin. Someone rebuilds your approval standards in COMPASS, and your subs fill out one standard profile. Procore says more than 150,000 subs are already on COMPASS, so some of yours will be too. A 14-person electrical sub bidding to Procore GCs may soon be asked for a COMPASS profile in place of separate forms; the post does not say whether subs pay. Subs' financial statements stay in COMPASS, and GCs see only the score and outcome. Residential remodelers not on Procore, and Procore GCs that don't use the Prequalification module, can ignore this.

What to do
Ask your vendor

Before Dec. 31, ask your Procore rep and COMPASS for the written fee schedule that starts in 2028 and confirmation that your account qualifies for the waiver, then sign up only if those numbers work.

What it costs
What it costs
COMPASS fees, signed up by Dec. 31, 2026
$0 until 2028 (per Procore)
COMPASS fees from 2028
not published; ask before signing
Rebuild standards and invite subs, assume 60 subs
~12 hrs (≈ $720 at $60/hr)
Sub side, one COMPASS profile per sub
~2–4 hrs once (assumption); sub fees not stated
Doing nothing
Procore Prequalification stops March 31, 2027; fee waiver lost after Dec. 31, 2026
Sources
procore.com (primary) · Bespoke Metrics press release: Procore and COMPASS Prequal for All

Questions owners ask

Does Procore Prequalification stop working right away?

No. Procore will stop improving it now and shut it down on March 31, 2027. Procore says it will contact affected customers directly.

What does a GC see about a sub in Procore?

The COMPASS Q Score and the recommended prequalification outcome. Subs choose which GCs can see their profile, and their financial statements stay in COMPASS.

What is the COMPASS Risk Agent?

It is an AI assistant that Bespoke Metrics and Procore expect to release later this year, built on the Model Context Protocol connection. It does not exist yet, so don't factor it into a decision this month.

Three to five of these, every weekday morning.

Related